How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

22 June 2005 - 11:11

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about the fringe

I love Fringe theatre.

The Fringe.

Even the sound of it.

Being on the Fringe of mainstream. No frills; sometimes raw, sometimes exciting, sometimes horribly wrong. Always energetic...

This year I was involved in one of the shows (I'm not going to mention which one - just cuz of googling and so that I can remain a little anonymous: suffice it to say that Carrie Bradshaw and her HBO chums were the main subject and you'll be able to find it via the above link!!) - my second consecutive fringe-arama following last year's "The Assignment".

This year no acting, just tech stuff, which is nice - little pressure, the hard work is all done before the show, all the voice over's recorded at my wee home studio, and mixed/exported and burned.

Then I could sit back and watch the show.

Which is bollocks really, cuz I found myself bobbing up and down like a jack in the box cueing and controlling, multi-tasking and fading.

The main thing I like about the Fringe is the spontenaity of it all. We are allowed 15 minutes to get in, get set up and check everything before they let the crowd in...

15 minutes.

That's it.

It's pretty amazing what you can fit into 15 minutes... (maybe that's a challenge: What can YOU fit into 15 minutes? Answers in a postcard...)

Suffice it to say it involves 12 or so people, madly rushding around puting props in place, ensuring costume is where it should be and that mics, lights and...um... tights are all where they should be.

There is no leeway. No space to maneuver.

15 minutes.

After that? 6 consecutive sold out shows and we were done.

It always amazes me in theatre, that you go through a process of preparation, rehearsals, home work etc etc etc, and then all of a sudden, one day, It stops. It's done. Over.

It's like losing your job after a major project.

...and let's be real, I didn't go though NEARLY as much as the cast and writers and the such. But it's odd. For the first time in 6 weeks, I'm not getting an email from person A or B or a telephone call worried about this or that.

It just stops.

And because of the nature of the Fringe - the quick in and out - you're left with a sense of "What just happened?"...

"I think it was good"... "I know I did something"...

Kinda like... um... well... yeah...

This experience was fun. More fun than I thought it would be, after the "Rocky Horror" experiences and the such. Maybe it was the smaller role, or the fact that I didn't have as much invested in it, so I could see it for what it really was... I felt part of the team, as though I had contributed something rather than forced something...

It's the kind of experience that makes me want to do it again and again.

I want to write a Fringe show.

I want to go to the lottery and see my name picked out of the hat and to be told that I'm in!!

I want to spend the time rehearsing.

I want to then feel the rush and spontenaity of showtime...

Watch this space.

It's coming...

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter