How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

18 February 2004 - 09:09

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about acting

A while ago, while I was working with the Rocky Horror Show, I had perhaps suggested that I would be interested getting my sorry ass back up onto the boards again. You know, to smell the greasepaint, to feed off the energy... It�s been a long while since I played such memorable characters such as �Squire Tawdry� in �Mother Goose�, �Alphonse� in �The Boyfriend� and �The Prisoner� in �The Prisoner�...I feel a little like Troy McLure...

So you can imagine my enthusiasm when I was offered an audition with a Montr�al company who is producing two Shakespeare plays: �The Taming of the Shrew� and �MacBeth�...

Those who know me would, I assume, instantly place me in the �MacBeth� production for obvious reasons, however after a somewhat less than steller audition (or so I thought), I have been cast as �Baptista� (The patriarch) in t'other one.

I have never acted Shakespeare before.

Quite frankly - I don�t know how much of a fan I am - I mean I do like, for the most part, the stories and characters... but I think I have seen too many BAD Shakespeare plays to know that when it is acted or produced poorly all subtlety is completely lost and it becomes this mush of incomprehensible poo.

And this makes me a little nervous... Refer to note (a) where I mention that I haven�t acted for some time (apart from �...like an idiot�) and after last night�s performance at the first rehearsal, I am beginning to realise why that may have been...

Without being all artsy-fartsy, taking written words and turning them into living breathing lines, which react to other lines and real people is really not that easy. Much less so when it is in ye olde englishe. How do you make something appear a spontaneous idea or thought spoken aloud when it absolutely is not? How do you react to something naturally when it is already preordained?

These actors just don�t get paid ENOUGH I tells ya! Fie!

Regardless, this is my new challenge... I know I have this in me. And it�s really nice to have a focus while the work thing is still not happening...

SHAMELESS PLUG ALERT....SHAMELESS PLUG ALERT...SHOW WILL BE AT THEATRE BAIN-ST-MICHEL... MONTREAL... MAY 1 - MAY 15...

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter