How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

04 June 2003 - 13:18

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about song lyrics

Damn, some people write great lyrics�

�and it may the one line in a song, y�know, that suddenly grabs you:

Coldplay : Green Eyes

�I came here with a load and it feels so much lighter since I met you�

Del Amitri : Tell Her This

�Tell her from this high terrain, I am ready now to fall��

Radiohead : High and Dry

�All your insides fall to pieces, You just sit there wishing you could still make love�

No reason for this�I was just listening to the radio and there was some old Robert Plant song being played � I don�t know what � but the lyrics went something like:

�I sat on the point and watched the ships go by. Friendships and Hardships and breakups�..�

�.something like that and realized how strong some lyrics are � even as stand alone�

I play guitar and attempt to write� I come up with great melodies and chord structure� but lyric writing is so damn frustrating� maybe because I try too damn hard to emulate the ones I love for their clever use of words and imagery. See the last thing I ever want to do is a Shania Twain style thing about writing about wishing that I could grow a beard to cover up my spots. How insulting and what a waste of an otherwise good tune�y�know??

So what�s the secret? Screwed if I know� maybe I should just try and tell it like it is and let the words come� I remember watching a show called �Being Mick� � which was a fly on the wall documentary following Mick Jagger around through his daily life� his one piece of advice was never to attempt to �write meaningful lyrics�, but just to say what you think and then try to lyricise it afterwards�

I guess I just had to tell myself.

Meh.

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter