How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

25 October 2005 - 11:31

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about the acting

"Ha" laughed Procrasto (somewhat ironically) to himself as he realised that there is but ONE rehearsal left before the big event

Are we ready?

*casts mind back to last night's first readings by the "Narrator"*

Am I sure?

*casts mind back to the bands 'stops' and 'starts'*

It struck me as I created the programme (is there an 'me' at the end? Or is that a UK-ism?) that I don't do enough 'acting'. Not that this show is challenging, 'haut culture', deep and character testing work... hell, I play a guy who sings and then dies, and then an old German in a Wheelchair who gets his pins out "for the thrills"...

But actual acting.

I find myself getting involved in technical stuff a lot. Like sound work...

Which reminds me.

I am going to now sound whiney.

Last night we met the tech people for the very first time.

Which was cool. I guess.

I have owned the tech stuff for this show since it's inception 3 years ago. I took it on and built rigs, designed and managed the live and recorded sound etc etc etc... I told our director a while back to use me. I know exactly what's needed for the show; we're even doing the show in the same space THIS year as we did it two years ago - so I know the set up there.

So we were all introduced and then off they went for a meeting.

And I was left behind.

*whine whine*

And I felt a little hurt by that. Not being included in any way. Not even a "P has done this for three years, and knows the tech requirements inside out, so if you have any questions..."

I just felt a little disrespected.

Like I had nothing to offer. Or like I'd done a really shitty job for the past three years...

Blech - I'm tired. And that's it. I should be rejoicing. After last year's trials and tribulations, I should be singing to the heavens above that I don't have to do anything.

I guess I held it closer to my heart than I realised.

That's it.

Said.

Done.

Anyway... as I was saying, before I distracted myself... I want to do more acting. As I was creating the programme (with or without the 'me'), I realised how much was going on, and how much people were doing with each other... and there's nothing quite like it, when you play a part and you nail it. It feels right, it feels natural and for that moment, you were someone else, living in someone elses moment.

There's a line in Rocky where I explain that I wasn't expecting to see Brad Majors but get distracted by some machinery, and every time I do that (it's a two second moment), I nail it. Or at least feel like I do. It's reacting not just to people, but situations, and myself. Yeah. I want to do more of it...

Acting 101 is now over.

That said, I have some voice work tomorrow. I was recommended by my good friend, usher to be and ex-roommate Barry to a multimedia company who require character voice people for various projects.

In my case, it's cell phone ring tones, both in and out.

So tomorrow, I go to a wee studio somewhere in the Plateau and read Shakespeare sonnets in the style of Orlando Bloom. And some other stuff in the style of John Cleese, and finally some other stuff in the style of Groundskeeper Willie.

It's about an hour's work for around $250.

Score!

And then the mad rush back downtown to the final rehearsal before the show begins.

And it all moves in full circle.

Is anyone coming??

2 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter