How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

29 April 2005 - 15:52

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about my accent

Yeah - yeah.

Cuba part 2 is on the way. I am such a lazy ass that I haven't scanned photo's yet.

They're coming, OK??

I got to thinking today... strange but true...

...if someone carries an accent from somewhere else, will they always be perceived as a stranger in that place? No matter how long they live there?

Jen's dad's inlaws are from Kirkcaldy, Scotland... Both of them have a strong, strong Fife accent. They still say "Shree" instead of "Three". Their grandkids have adopted little Scottishisms..."och tae hell"...

They've lived around Toronto for over 40 years. Which is longer than I've been alive... so to all intents and purposes they are more Canadian than me...

Yet, when I listen to them, they seem so... displaced. Not that they shouldn't be there, but that they are a bizarre minority. I wonder if they are regarded still as "immigrants" by their peers. After all this time.

I was writing some lyrics for a new song, and it struck me, that although I am now an established Montrealer (!?), I will probably always be regarded as an 'immigrant' myself. Because of my accent. Regardless as to how long I live here. I don't fit into the standard English Montrealer mould (although I can do a reasonable simile of the accent *uncomfortable laugh*), and I certainly don't fit the profile of a Francophone...

So when I talk about 'my town', even though my mother was born and raised here, I'm probably not taken that seriously (in terms of my integrated authenticy) by my peers, regardless of how much I know about the Habs, the Ex-Expos or the Impact!!

It's funny that my accent put's me within 50 miles of where it was cultured, yet my physical appearance doesn't.

And that will probably never change.

I'll always be Scottish P...

I dunno. Maybe it's just me, but it's a strange realisation.

What do you other Montrealers think?

It doesn't matter how many Molson Ex I drink or Belevederes I smoke, right? Or how many times I say "TABERNAC!!!", when the Leafs score on the Habs net...

Right?

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter