How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

15 October 2004 - 11:16

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about the statue

I was walking through Gare Windsor today on my way to work, when I saw the war memorial statue. I have walked past it a hundred times and never really thought a whole lot about it, but today it got me thinking...
This is it (it's the Vancouver one, but an identical one resides here in Montr�al):

At first sight, it's a pretty beautiful bronze. A picture of a soldier being lifted up by some angel. And I asked myself what that meant. Is it a vision of an angel or some greater power lifting up the dead, but celebrated soldier and taking to a higher place. Suggesting that us mortals should bow down to the man who was sent to kill another man. To kill someone's father or son?

And I may be going out on a limb here, but doesn't it in turn mirror a form of martyrdom? The very thing that we westerners are supposed to abhor and misunderstand? For the greater glory of something else, right? He died for the greater glory of something or someone else?

And I found myself looking at this otherwise beautifully crafted bronze, feeling angry at the world. We're all such hypocrites.

How can we hate or claim not to understand one ideal, and yet mirror it and say it's OK? Because it's 'one of our own'...

and this is not about terrorism, which is so heinously and fundamentaly wrong; it's not about patriotism, which is fine in it's place.

I dunno - it's about humanity. And understanding (or my own lack thereof). And openmindedness.

It's also not a slant at all the men and women who fought through all the wars that ever existed. I know they thought that what they were doing was right. But weren't the so-called 'bad guys' doing the same?

I need to stay of the cheese. It makes my mind wander in abstract ways...

Please don't be offended.

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter