How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

14 September 2004 - 14:56

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about the worry.

I was watching The Cooler the other night when I heard a thump outside on the street. I am naturally a very nosey neighbour and so jumped out of my seat to see what the action was.

There were two gentlemen pushing an old beat up truck into a parking space. Both were in their mid thirties, wearing ball caps, some kind of military fatigue jackets and were carrying backpacks which were seemingly full of "stuff".

After about 15 minutes of pushing and pulling they finally backed the behemoth into the space directly across the street from my downtown condo and left, looking around all the while. I'm not an overly nervous person, but there was something about their behaviour which rung an alarm bell. And yet I did nothing about it.

Two weeks ago, the main street which runs parallel to mine was closed directly above me. Reason? The police found a minivan packed to the ...um... gills with explosives and other incendiary devises. While it was not classified as a "bomb threat", it was decreed as being a hazard, and the vehcule was removed from the scene. It was never reported why the van was there or what it's contents were to be used for. Only that it belonged to some Italian mafia dude.

The point is that I find myself looking at the perhaps some of the most everyday of activities and wondering if there is some potential danger involved. Since 911, we have been programmed to be vigilant, be wary, to be on guard, perhaps even to be a litle scared. Even in Canada, let's not kid ourselves. We have been warned about the potential for a terrorist attack north of "the" border for some time.

I don't live in a constant state of fear, don't misinterpret, but Sunday evening's truck, caught me off-guard. More in the fact that I stopped for a millisecond to actually question whether or not I was safe. In my own home.

I even catch myself wondering, as I take my daily walking commute through the downtown core whether or not I am going to see the unimaginable happen. Fleetingly.

But this is Canada.

This is Qu�bec.

Surely the worst that can happen is that someone will spill their poutine down my shirt, right?

I am apalled that I could let myself even think that...

I am more appalled that these are the times we live in.

Am I the only one who has these ridiculous thoughts? Really?

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter