How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

09 August 2004 - 11:46

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about the Avis complaint

I am SO damn tired of speaking to an empty void...

Today I sent this to Avis. Do think it will work?

*ahem*

Dear Sir

Having rented a car from your company from Edinburgh Airport during the month of May (21st � 28th) I have been trying to resolve an issue regarding the return charges of the vehicle and it�s burst tyre.

Regrettable I do not have my rental agreement number as all documentation was taken from me at the time of return.

Please allow me to give a run-down of activity � or lack thereof � to date:

28th May 2004: Returned car with punctured tyre. Was charged 100 pounds to fix this as this was my �excess� according to my contract. My initial observations and complaint stemmed as follows.

Why was I charged 100 pounds for a burst tyre? I asked this question when I returned the car only to be told that it was part of the excess charge. I understand that I would have to pay to have the tyre fixed, but 100 pounds?

Also my understanding of the term excess when used in the insurance context is that I am liable to pay anything �UP TO and including� the value of the excess limit. Therefore � if a tyre replacement costs 40 pounds, I would be liable to pay 40 pounds. No more.

I was told quite simply by Freya Schulpher, who dealt with me at the time, that I would have to pay the full value of the excess amount.

I grudgingly did.

On my return to Canada, I decided to follow up my complaint by using your online customer service form via your website to ask the question so that I could gain some resolution and, at very least to fully understand if I was correct in my understanding of what an excess charge is.

After submitting my question once again, I was immediately sent one of your automated messages telling me that my query would be dealt with in 20-22 business days. My question was sent June 1st. My initial observations were that 20-22 working days (4 weeks +) was a very long lead time to be taking to resolve and investigate customer questions. Perhaps you have a backlog of complaints? Also � I was provided no reference number with which to refer to my problem.

I waited until July 18th after having heard nothing and replied directly to the automated email entiltled [email protected] to ask what had happened to my question? I was immediately sent another automated email message telling me that my question would be dealt with in 20-22 days.

I did get a glimmer of hope, however when I received an email from Freya Schulpher above which I will now copy and paste below:

�From:

To:xxxxx>

Sent: Tuesday, July 20, 2004 10:59 AM

Subject: Damage Query

> Dear Mr Procrasto (He actually spelled my name wong!!!)

>

> I was the avis representative that dealt with your damage query and I

> forward your query to our damage claims consultants, WNS Assistance. They

> should have dealt/ be dealing with your query. I'm sorry they have not

> contacted you to let you know they have recieved your e-mail.

>

> What I suggest, is to give them as call or contact them on

>

> Avis Rent A Car Ltd

> WNS Assistance

> FREEPOST NAT3781

> IPSWICH

> IP1 1ZZ

> Phone: 0870 0402815

> Fax: 0870 040 2940

> [email protected]

>

> I advise if you want a quick response the best way to contact them is via

a

> telephone call. This will give you the reassurance that your query is

> definitely being dealt with and you will also have a reference for the

> person that is dealing with your query.

>

> regards

>

> > Freya Sculpher

> > Customer Services

> > Avis Rent A Car Limited

> > United Kingdom

> >

> > Tel: +44 (0) 20 8268 5957

> > Fax: +44 (0) 20 8561 2604

> > e-mail: [email protected]

� > Website www.avis.co.uk�

As I�m sure you can appreciate, this made my blood boil somewhat. Why am I being asked to follow up my own query? I have already paid the very grand total of 100 pounds for a tyre, and have been ignored on 3 occasions when asking a very simple question. Where is the �We Try Harder�?

I live in Canada, and quite frankly, I refuse to call UK by telephone when I have made contact with your so-called customer service department with my question and have been failed by your so-called �guarantees of service�.

According to your Missions and Values Statement:

�We will lead our industry by defining service excellence and building unmatched

customer loyalty.�

None of those values or missions have been attained in terms of my Avis experience.

Finally, I am a manager of a Customer Service Center. My current mandate is to highlight and drive customer satisfaction. I thoroughly suggest that you d the same with your company. I otherwise enjoyed your car immensely�

I am not a habitual complainer. I have so many better things to do with my time than write elongated histories and to repeat myself for the third time.

Just please answer my question� I genuinely do feel that I have been grossly overcharged.

Yours

Procrasto the pissed.

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter