How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

31 May 2004 - 07:49

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about Scottish Nostalgia

Procrasto - The White Album

DON'T YOU DARE CALL ME ON THAT, JONAS!!! HA!

I'll renew my DLand membership in due course. Right now it's back to basics...

So I just got back from another supremely fabulous visit to the homeland that is Scotland. This time with, the gloriously beautiful (and very ginger) Jen.

It's funny - some people have very little sentimentality in them, no time to allow nostalgia to let drift away from who they are or to seemingly dent their outward strength. Personally - I love it. I love revisiting places that emote good times, drunk times, laughter, sadness, just plain silly times. A place may be just bricks and mortar and trees and grass, but it's what it represents. Somethings glowing, somethings painful, but that's balance.

I left Scotland and Edinburgh 13 years ago - to go to England to University and then to move to Montreal - after having grown up there a Scot, filled with the romanticism of William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, the Glencoe Massacre and Bonny Prince Charlie.

I went to a wedding during our trip - dressed in my kilt (pic to follow) along with all the other kilt wearers and it struck me that the Scots are one of the few 'nations' who embrace their underdog status. They suffered historically persecution from the English, imposed rule and brutal highland clearances, not to mention more recently, north sea oil rights which feed the Westminster fat cats, yet they still band together, embrace their heritage in their nation costume and revel in their underdog status. It was quite fabulousto be one of them "Them" again for a short while. It makes me feel proud. Or rather it reminds me why I am proud.

That and because I scored a 95 at St Andrews.

Anyway - the initial point of this was to say that visiting Scotland is always positively and emotionally uplifting, from my own childhood roots, to the sheer beauty shrouded in turbulent history, and I allow myself to get caught up in it. And I'm glad I do...

What makes it even more special is having my Jen with me to soak up the bits and to understand.

It's good to progress, it's good to evolve. It's important to recognise and appreciate my roots.

All that said. It's good to be home.

"Taming of the Shrew" starts in 3 days.

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter