How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

27 August 2003 - 12:26

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about the importance of nostalgia

This vacation is going to be damn good for me. It's going to give me a chance to get out of Dodge for a whole 3 weeks and assess a few things...

The situation with ex.

My current singledom: Good thing/bad thing or just a thing?

It'll give me an opportunity to see how I feel about my environment when I come back. Will I dread it? Or will I genuinely be excited at the prospect of coming back to the things I've been bitching about for the last little while.

Most of all, this vacation is going to give the opportunity to energize my batteries with old friends, old sights, and old memories...

I won't need to go and physically find things to go do to light up my seemingly unsatisfactory existance. They'll be there in all their nostalgic glory, ready for me to go "Ooooh" and "aaaah" about. They'll be there in the shape of old friends who I haven't seen in years, who will invoke images of nostalgia and sunny afternoons... of fishing in the quarry and drinking our first beers... of crashing our cars and hiding from the authorities... the time we "batmanned" Lincoln Cathedral or injured ourselves falling off the castle wall.

It's funny that, y'know, as ascenine and apparantly irrevelvant as all of those things are to me today, I really need to do that. I haven't been back here long enough to have someone to do those things with. There's no-one here that I can talk with about the "good old days" and have that depth of understanding as to what they really were. Which is not a complaint or me feeling sorry for myself. Not even slightly. It is however fact, and one of the things that I am genuinely excited about. And I know that I will come away feeling enormously rejuvinated. And looking forward to the day when I can look back over 25 years in Montr�al and talk about the fun times here.

Thing is that I left the UK for a number of reasons. And I love my life (really) at the moment.

I'm just ready for a vacation.

And some complete escapism back to the good old times and the good old places and the good old faces that, in some ways, crafted me into who I am today.

Perhaps I'm lucky that I have the opportunity to do that. And that, because they are so far away, they still remain enormously special to me.

7 days to go..

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter