How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

01 August 2003 - 12:08

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about Gumphood's interview

These be The Mighty Gump�s questions and answers. I didn�t do a funny one like he did. Maybe I�ll save it for a rainy day.

1) Why Diaryland? What the hell brought you here, and what are the things that let you stick with it? What will make you stop?

About 2/3 years ago, a friend of mine introduced me to this wee community. I thought it was kinda fun, and it gave me an opportunity to write some stupid stuff and be semi articulate about whatever the heck I wanted to articulate about. I never wrote poetry, but I think it�s cool wee outlet just to express. Gee that sounds dorky. Anyway, it�s also another funky way of meeting people too. Within reason. I�m not going to say any more than that. Other than I stopped a year and a half ago and then restarted this May. I�ll stop if it all goes to hell in a handbasket. Again. Or I have absolutely nothing to say. Or I have nothing to say and no way to articulate the nothingness�

2) The other day there were riots in Montreal. You stood against them. What is something that you feel strong enough about that you would riot. Barring military occupation, or severe oppression of civil rights, is there something that you feel strongly about that you would take you life into risk for? If not. Why?

Other than, as you mention, a serious infringement of civil rights, I would have a hard time physically asserting myself to a cause. Not because I am apathetic, or cowardly in any way, more because I have seen some horrifying acts of violence where people die or are mamed or burned or whatever, and I just think it�s such a waste. There are things that I strongly disagree with: Gun laws for example, But I would much rather take the passive approach of not owning one? Why would you need one? They serve as a purpose for one thing. To kill things. Which should not be a civil right. * rant * I have and would continue to jump in on personal crime. It�s not rioting. But you know what I mean�

3) You have referred to yourself as charming, and narcissistic, and yet you had a bad date. Why do you think this happened? What do you offer to members of the opposite sex? What about you do you think members of opposite sex don�t like about you? Have you ever changed yourself for a girl? Has a girl changed herself for you?

This question made me laugh. I don�t recall referring to myself as charming (although I admit that I think I can be), and I was oozing sarcasm on the narcissistic side. But then I thought, Am I? Aren�t we all a little narcissistic? Doesn�t narcissism generate from a deep-rooted insecurity about one�s self? Which is probably somewhat true. And I would suggest that most people have some for of insecurity about themselves which requires some kind of affirmation of their own beauty, whether through others or through themselves. Thus we are all a little narcissistic. See? (expects to be shot down for that one). As for the bad date: dating is always a 2-way thing, and often the best dates we have are because of a good 2-way connection. If it is only one way, it gets to be like hard work, and becomes a bad date. How does that happen? Lack of commonalities, no physical attraction (which may or may no be shallow), differing senses of humour� on this occasion � we found we had nothing of any great depth to talk about..

I think I offer women a great sense of humour, an ear, a perspective, a certain amount of old school chivalry. I do have values, I am grounded and balanced. I am independent. I am creative. And I am an old romantic at heart�

Perhaps though, this isn�t enough�I mean the �good ol� P� thing can seem, well, a little banal and perhaps a little dull. I am never the �bad boy�� is that a turn off?

Hasn�t everyone, at sometime or other, changed themselves for a member of the opposite sex? I have, on one occasion, taken it to an extreme which ended up being extremely messy and very, very wrong� but I do think that both parties do need to compromise to sustain any kind of relationship. Whether you equate that to �change� is another question. I would say on one level yes. But you shouldn�t change who you are deep down inside. The tippermost top level may change, in terms of those things which can (your dress sense?), but your innermost passions shouldn�t. And I don�t believe ever have.

4) What are the ten most beautiful things that you have seen in this world with your own eyes?

In no particular order: The Northern Lights in Scotland, The Rockies from 30,000ft up, The Pacific Ocean from a rock in Lighthouse Park in Vancouver, The Fall Colours in the Eastern Townships, Some of my mother�s art. Our annual hockey game on the pond at Christmas, My sister on her wedding day, Saku Koivu stepping onto the ice after his cancer, The Swiss Alps from atop �Les Dents du Midi�, My cat give birth to three kittens, purring the whole while.

5) What did you want your life to be when you were ten? How about 18? How about now? How about in ten years? Have you met all your expectations? Will you meet them? Which ones have you fallen short of? Any large regrets? What caused your life to take a different track that you expected? And if you didn�t, then what else do you wish you had done?

Oh my! When I was ten � I wanted to be a marine biologist, so I�m told� I was always fascinated (and still am) by all things aquatic. One of my aquatic dreams is to get into a cage in a sea with a very, very large Great White Shark. By 18 I wanted to be a rock star (who didn�t) And was singing for my first (of many) bands called �Chrome� we were a prog rock band � heavily influenced my the likes of �Rush� and �Marillion�� I was never without music or band for the next 12 years� and miss it a little now. But never regret doing it� My life is not what I expected it to be at my age. But I know that it�s a positive thing. I work for a great company with all kinds of opportunities, I have a great circle of friends, I continue to meet wonderful people. I live life on MY terms� In ten years, I don�t have too many life goals. Other than to be as content with my life as I am now. I feel no burning desire to settle down and do family things, but I am absolutely open to that happening. That may sound very, very obtuse but I already do lead a �settled� life in my own way. I regret the way I�ve treated some people in the past. And that includes myself. If I could take any of that back or change it, I would. At the same time, and not being a believer in fate or the suchlike, I believe that I�ve taken those things, hated myself, forgiven myself and learned to be a better person. My life is on a different track because of the choices I made. Some good, some not so.

Bonus: What�s your best stripper story? What�s the worst taste you have ever had? For some reason I hope these two go together.

I don�t have too many stripper stories, being a non-frequenter of said establishments, but if I could mention one, it would be the time a stripper gave me her telephone number. I thought it would be adorable to play dumb and not understand the rules of Montr�al. (Barring only a few places � you can play the touchy-feely game here). So I sat down and let Tanya do her stuff. So she tells me that I can touch if I so wish (except �there�), so I blush and play ignorant, which she finds, well adorable. So she sits and chats and then out of the blue says �Would you like to do dinner�? I was, of course, flattened�and stuttered and mumbled Hugh Grant style, which also seemed to work miracles. So I told her that I didn�t have a pen, at which she pointed out that I had my cell phone and could simply add it. Which I did. I left the club a wee while later and decided to check it�s validity. I got her answer machine. And then she called me back and asked if I had called to check to see if the number was real. I stuttered and mumbled. And never called her again. On the way home I stopped with my buddy at McDonalds and ordered a poutine. It was, without doubt, the worst thing I ever tasted in my life. The cheese was half frozen, the gravy was some kind of crap chicken substitute and the fires were about 3 days old. I cursed La Belle Province for being closed. (so kind of related�..)

Phew!

Happy Friday

Peace!

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter