How to make a procrasto
Ingredients:
5 parts competetiveness
5 parts brilliance
3 parts leadership
Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Add fitness to taste! Do not overindulge!

27 June 2003 - 13:06

"A super hero for the kids in the bottles..."

The one about Intellectual Sarcasm

Sarcasm, they say, is the lowest form of wit, right? What does that make intellectual sarcasm? You know, the people who get off in bring very high brow sarcasm and watching your reaction as you deconstruct and reconstruct? Now I consider myself to be a relatively intelligent guy. I can create a fairly strong balanced arguement or debate and don't generally have too much trouble articulating myself.

So I'm out with friends last night having a wonderful dinner at Weinsten & Gavino when a particular english literature teacher who I had never met before began launching off on a highbrow rant about education and teaching literature to new English speakers. Now I am also a qualified teacher (it is my university qualification) so I was quite interested in what she had to say about teaching methods and the suchlike. So I ask her a few questions about her approach and she is quite content to throw back the content rather than the approach, and while I am not particularly well read in all of the damn classics, I am no stranger to the written word. and apart from anything else I was not interested in the content. She obviously latches onto the fact that I am not at MENSA level when it comes to classic literature and immediately quips:

"Oh, but you wouldn't understand, not being a reader of THOSE type of books"

...and then continues with the rest of the group explaining her theory about how kids with little to no communication skills are the ones who tend to be the aggressive ones.

Inside I'm thinking "FUCK YOU".

But I couldn't react in any way with the last comment.

And so I am left feeling a little bit stupid. Either this person is very, very intelligent, or very rude. Or both. My buddy, Damaso, see's my facial reaction and kicks me under the table.

My only comeback was to try and turn the conversation to something of which I have some expertise. Music. I write and play all kinds of intruments, and so when I heard her 'communication' line it was the perfect in. So I launched into my own monologue about the difficulty of lyricising as opposed to poetry and to try to merge that with music which mirrors the sentiment...blah blah blah... and she comes back at me with some smartass comment about that not being the case. So I mentioned that when you write music and play it, lyrics may not fit the rhythm and melodic form you create on a musical instrument...but wait...you don't do that PLAY any musical instruments right?

"I sing"

"That's nice"

...and I just carried on. How childish am I?? That is so 9th grade. Damaso kicked me under the table again...

But NO-ONE takes a swing at the Procrasto without expecting something in return. (Which is equally 9th grade)...

Whatever - Happy Friday!

Peace!

0 comments so far
Procrastos mood today

The one before - the one after

new - old - me - notes - Guestbook - Guestmap - host

I made a Quiz for you! Take my Quiz! and then Check out the Scoreboard!

Canada Quebec

PROCRASTO'S TRADING CARD


My life is rated NC-17.
What is your life rated?

Site Meter